The Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development is due to release funds amounting to 36,016,824,497/= to the 8 districts and 2 municipalities in Teso. In a circular dated 15th July and addressed to all accounting officers, the Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development provides a detailed allocation for quarter one of FY 2016/17 expenditure limits. According to the PS, the expenditure limits are based on budgets and work plans submitted to the Ministry by the local governments. In a letter copied to all Resident District Commissioners, District Chairperson and Municipal Mayors, the ministry warns that accounting officers must have accounted for funds of the 4th Quarter of 2015/16 FY by the end of July and that this will be the basis of 2nd quarter releases. The details of the authorized releases are as follows; Soroti-4,235,834,475/=, Kaberamaido-3,840,578,623/=, Katakwi District-5,748,470,830/=, Kumi District-5,115,655,202/=, Amuria District-4,371,468,270/=, Bukedea District-4,017,703,880/=, Serere District- 4,282,569,807/=, Ngora District-2,691,932,065/=, Soroti Municipality-1,561,505,430/= and Kumi Municipality-951,107,915/=. The circular also informs the accounting officers that the Ministry will directly transfer funds to Lower Local Government, Schools and Health units but informs the accounting officers that they are responsible for proper use of the money. The PS directed the accountant General and Commissioner, Financial Management to immediately release funds as per break down.

TAC has analysed this information and in furtherance of its mission to promote public transparency and accountability; has relayed this information to all relevant stakeholders in accountability in the region. TAC is also committed to monitor the use of these resources for purposes of ensuring value for money.

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish